Global Liberal Arts Design Experiments
The laboratory is now wide open for new discoveries.

~Bruno Latour, An Inquiry into the Modes of Existence

party

Common Core
University of Hong Kong

http://commoncore.hku.hk/

Hosted by
Gray Kochhar-Lindgren
Professor & Director
gklindgren@hku.hk


Ahfad University for Women

http://www.ahfad.edu.sd/index.php/about-auw/prof-gasim-badri
Professor Gasim Yusuf Babiker Badri, President: auw@ahfad.edu.sd

American University of Beirut

http://www.aub.edu.lb/units/general-education/Pages/index.aspx
Dania Salem, Assistant Director of General Education & Assessment: ds23@aub.edu.lb

Amsterdam University College

http://www.auc.nl/academic-programme/nav
Murray Pratt, Dean: M.J.O.Pratt@auc.nl

Asian University for Women

http://asian-university.org/academic-programs/undergraduate-programs/
Dr. Rosie Bateson, Dean of Faculty & Academic Affairs

Beijing Institute of Technology

http://ioeen.bit.edu.cn/index.htm
Graduate School of Education
Pang Haishao, Graduate School Director for Faculty Development: panghaishao@bit.edu.cn

Brown University

https://www.brown.edu/academics/college/degree/curriculum
Margaret Chang, Director of the Curricular Resource Center / Associate Dean of the College: margaret_chang@brown.edu

Brown University

https://www.brown.edu/academics/college/degree/curriculum
Margaret Chang, Director of the Curricular Resource Center / Associate Dean of the College: margaret_chang@brown.edu

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

https://www.cpp.edu/~ceis/interdisciplinary-general-education/index.shtml
Dennis Quinn, IGE Department Chair: dquinn@cpp.edu

Chinese University of Hong Kong

http://www5.cuhk.edu.hk/oge/index.php/en/
Mei Yee Leung, Director, University General Education: myleung@cuhk.edu.hk

City University of Hong Kong

C.H. Shek, Director: apchshek@cityu.edu.hk Gateway Education:
http://www.cityu.edu.hk/edge/ge/

Columbia University

Great Books Programme:https://www.college.columbia.edu/core/core
Roosevelt Montás, Director, Center for the Core Curriculum: rm63@columbia.edu
Toni Gunthrope-Hardee, Associate Director: tg2030@columbia.edu
David Helfand, Professor, Department of Astronomy: djh@astro.columbia.edu
James J. Valentini, Dean of Columbia College: jjv1@columbia.edu
Victoria Rosner, Dean of Academic Affairs, School of General Studies: vpr4@columbia.edu
Patricia Kitcher, Department of Philosophy, Chair of Contemporary Civilization: pk206@columbia.edu
David Lurie, Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures: dbl11@columbia.edu

Cornell University

http://courses.cornell.edu/preview_program.php?catoid=31&poid=15184
http://as.cornell.edu/degree-requirements
Gretchen Ritter, The Harold Tanner Dean of Arts & Sciences: as_dean@cornell.edu
Rachel Bean, Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education: reb55@cornell.edu
Marilyn Migiel, Senior Associate Dean for Arts & Humanities: mm55@cornell.edu

Curtin University

Professor Dawn Bennett, John Curtin Distinguished Professor of Higher Education:
apchshek@cityu.edu.hk Gateway Education:
http://www.cityu.edu.hk/edge/ge/

Dartmouth College

http://dartmouth.smartcatalogiq.com/en/current/orc/Regulations/Undergraduate-Study
Elizabeth F. Smith, Dean of Faculty of Arts & Sciences:
Elizabeth.F.Smith@Dartmouth.EDU

Duke University and Duke-Kunshan (Durham, NC; Kunshan, China)

Duke, Durham, NC : http://admin.trinity.duke.edu/curriculum/trinity-curriculum
Duke-Kunshan: https://dukekunshan.edu.cn/
Noah Pickus, Associate Provost and Senior Advisor to the Provost (Duke); Dean of Undergraduate Curricular Affairs and Faculty Development (DKU): noah.pickus@duke.edu.
Haiyan Gao, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Duke Kunshan University: haiyan.gao@duke.edu
Liguo Zhang , Special Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs: liguo.zhang@dku.edu.cn
Jeff Forbes, Associate Dean of Curriculum and Course Development: jforbes@duke.edu
Kunshan, China: https://dukekunshan.edu.cn/en/academics/undergraduate-global-learning-semester
Andrew Field, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs: andrew.field@dukekunshan.edu.cn

Emory University

Michael A. Elliott, Dean, Emory College of Arts and Sciences: michael.elliott@emory.edu
Joanne Brzinski, Senior Associate Dean, Office for Undergraduate Education: poljb@emory.edu
Mark Risjord, Director, Institute of Liberal Arts: mark.risjord@emory.edu
Kim Loudermilk, Director, IDEAS (Interdisciplinary Exploration and Scholarship) Program: klouder@emory.edu
CC External Examiner: Sander Gilman: sgilman@emory.edu

Erasmus University College

Maarten Frens, Dean: maarten.frens@euc.eur.nl
https://www.eur.nl/euc/academics/curriculum/academic_core/

Fudan University

Xu Lei, Director of Academic Affairs: lei_xu@fudan.edu.cn
http://www.fudan.edu.cn/en/channels/view/48/

Halmstad University

Frida Stranne, Team Lead, Grand Challenges Curriculum Development: frida.stranne@hh.se
http://www.hh.se/english.5_en.html

Harbin Institute of Technology

Qi Jingyao, Associate Dean of Educational Affairs: jyq@hit.edu.cn

Harvard University

Stephanie H. Kenen, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education and Administrative Director: kenen@fas.harvard.edu
http://generaleducation.fas.harvard.edu/current_requirements
CC External Examiners:
Harry Lewis: lewis@seas.harvard.edu
Venkatesh Narayanamurti: venky@seas.harvard.edu
Shigehisa Kuriyama: hkuriyama@fas.harvard.edu

Hong Kong Baptist University

General Education: http://ge.hkbu.edu.hk/
Reza Hoshmand, Director of General Education: hoshmand@hkbu.edu.hk

Hong Kong Polytechnic University

General Education: https://www.polyu.edu.hk/~gec/index.php
Kam-por YU, Director of General Education Centre: geykp@polyu.edu.hk

Hong Kong Education University

http://www.eduhk.hk/ge/web/
Tin Yau Joe Lo, Director of General Education: joelo@eduhk.hk

Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Chih-Chen Chang, Academic Director, University Common Core: cechang@ust.hk
http://uce.ust.hk/cgi-bin/web/home/index.php

Johns Hopkins Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Willam Egginton, Director of the Alexander Grass Humanities Institute: egginton@jhu.edu

Leiden University College

https://studiegids.leidenuniv.nl/studies/show/4917/liberal-arts-and-sciences-global-challenges
Lieke Schreel, Educational Director: l.a.j.m.schreel@luc.leidenuniv.nl
Dean: Judi Mesman, j.mesman@luc.leidenuniv.nl

Lingnan University

Mark Alan McGinley, Director of Core Curriculum and General Education: markmcginley@ln.edu.hk
https://www.ln.edu.hk/ccgeo/corecurri.php

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

http://web.mit.edu/commreq/index.html
Kathleen MacArthur, Associate Dean for Curriculum and Faculty Support:
kmacarth@mit.edu

National Taiwan University

http://ntugege.blog.ntu.edu.tw/
Rong-Huay Juang, Chief Director of the Center of General Education: juang@ntu.edu.tw
Huang Chun-chieh, Dean of the Institute of Advanced Studies in Humanities and Social Sciences: chun_chieh_huang@hotmail.com

Nanjing University

Shi Lin Miao, Vice President of Center for Teaching and Learning: slm@nju.edu.cn

National University of Singapore

Bernard C Y TAN, Vice Provost (Undergraduate Education & Student Life): pvotcy@nus.edu.sg

New York University

http://core.cas.nyu.edu/page/home
Thomas Ertman, Director, College Core Curriculum: core.cas@nyu.edu

New York University, Shanghai

https://shanghai.nyu.edu/academics/curriculum
Maria E. Montoya, Dean of Arts and Science: maria.montoya@nyu.edu
Keith Ross, Dean of Engineering and Computer Science: keithwross@nyu.edu
Yuxin Chen, Dean of Business: yc18@nyu.edu

New York University, Abu Dhabi

http://nyuad.nyu.edu/en/academics/undergraduate-programs/core-curriculum.html
Robert Young, Dean of Arts and Humanities: rjy2@nyu.edu
Samer Madanat, Dean of Engineering: samer.madanat@nyu.edu
David Scicchitano, Dean of Science: das2@nyu.edu
Hervé Crès, Dean of Social Sciences: herve.cres@nyu.edu

Northwestern University

http://sps.northwestern.edu/program-areas/undergraduate/degree-requirements.php
Peter Kaye, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate and Professional Programs:kaye@northwestern.edu

Mahidol University International College

http://www.muic.mahidol.ac.th/eng/?page_id=1071
Phitaya Charupoonphol, Dean of MUIC: deanic@mahidol.ac.th

Peking University: Yuanpei College (Beijing)

http://english.pku.edu.cn/Admission/Undergraduate/Undergraduate.html?id=00046
Ou Yangqi, Director of Academy for Advanced Interdisciplinary Studies: qi@pku.edu.cn

Purdue University

David Reingold, Justin S. Morrill Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Professor of Sociology: reingold@purdue.edu

Rutgers University

http://sasundergrad.rutgers.edu/ladr
Susan Lawrence, Vice Dean for Undergraduate Education: slawrence@sas.rutgers.edu

San Francisco State University

Jennifer Summit, Interim Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs: jsummit@sfsu.edu
Tanya Augsburg, Liberal Studies Program: tanya@sfsu.edu

Seoul Women’s University

Lee Yoosun, Associate Professor of Department of Educational Psychology and Character Education

Shanghai Jiao Tong University

http://whsz.sjtu.edu.cn/index.asp?name=1
Ding Xiaoping, Vice President of Center for Education in SJTU: xpding@sjtu.edu.cn

Stanford University

https://registrar.stanford.edu/students/enrolling-courses/general-education-breadth-requirements
Harry Elam, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education: rdeb@stanford.edu

Sun Yat-Sen University, Boya Program

http://lac.sysu.edu.cn/xyjj/index.htm
Mo Hua, Director of Educational Affairs Office:eesqxp@mail.sysu.edu.cn

Tel Aviv University

https://international.tau.ac.il/ba_liberal_arts/?id=term-intro
Ayellet Shaham, Program Director: ayellets@post.tau.ac.il

Temple University

General Education: Jonathan Nyquist, Director, j.nyquist@temple.edu, 215-204-7484; Dana Dawson, Associate Director, dana.dawson@temple.edu, 215-204-6248; Intellectual Heritage: Dustin Kidd, dustin.kidd@temple.edu, 347-563-6174

The University of Utah

http://ugs.utah.edu/general-education/requirements/
Ann Darling, Assistant Vice President of Undergraduate Studies (General Education): ann.darling@utah.edu

Tohoku University

https://www.sal.tohoku.ac.jp/en/
Koichi Morimoto, Dean of Faculty of Arts and Letters: xkc-m2rt@tohoku.ac.jp
Norihiro Nakamura, Dsc, Professor, Institute for Excellence in Higher Education: n-naka@tohoku.ac.jp

Tsinghua University (Beijing)

http://www.tsinghua.edu.cn/publish/shss/4587/2010/20101226165111199926498/20101226165111199926498_.html
Yang Bin, Center for Liberal Education, Director: binyang@tsinghua.edu.cn

Tsinghua University (Beijing)

http://www.tsinghua.edu.cn/publish/shss/4587/2010/20101226165111199926498/20101226165111199926498_.html
Yang Bin, Center for Liberal Education, Director: binyang@tsinghua.edu.cn

University of Aberdeen

Sixth Century Courses:
https://www.abdn.ac.uk/registry/courses/undergraduate/2015-2016/sixth_century_courses
Chris Kee, Dean of Chinese Affairs: christopher.kee@abdn.ac.uk
Sarah James, Academic Services: sarah.james@abdn.ac.uk

University of Auckland

Alistair Kwan, Centre for Learning & Research in Higher Education:
alistair.kwan@auckland.ac.nz

University of Birmingham

https://www.birmingham.ac.uk/schools/liberal-arts-and-sciences/index.aspx
Diana Spencer, Dean, Liberal Arts and Natural Sciences: D.J.SPENCER@bham.ac.uk

University of California, Berkeley

http://ls-advise.berkeley.edu/requirement/7breadth.html
Carla Hesse, Executive Dean of College of Letters & Science: chesse@berkeley.edu
CC External Examiner: Armando Fox: fox@cs.berkeley.edu

University of California, Los Angeles

Scott Waugh, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, evc@conet.ucla.edu
CC External Examiner (Humanities): Ursula Heise: uheise@outlook.com;
uheise@humnet.ucla.edu

UC Santa Cruz

https://advising.ucsc.edu/requirements/gen-ed.html
Richard Hughey, Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education:mbarton@ucsc.edu.
Matt Sparke: External Examiner for the CommonCore@HKU: msparke@ucsc.edu.

UC Santa Cruz

https://advising.ucsc.edu/requirements/gen-ed.html
Richard Hughey, Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education:mbarton@ucsc.edu.
Matt Sparke: External Examiner for the CommonCore@HKU: msparke@ucsc.edu.

University College London

http://www.ucl.ac.uk/basc
Carl Gombrich, Director of BASc: c.gombrich@ucl.ac.uk

University of Chicago

The College Core Curriculum
https://college.uchicago.edu/academics/college-core-curriculum
John W. Boyer, Dean of the College: jwboyer@uchicago.edu
Elise Covic, Deputy Dean of the College for Academic Programs: eliseg@uchicago.edu
Bill Michel, Executive Director, Logan Center for the Arts,wmichel@uchicago.edu

University College Erasmus, Rotterdam

https://www.eur.nl/euc/academics/curriculum/academic_core/
Marna Bakker, head of office of student and educational affairs: bakker@euc.eur.nl

University of Colorado Boulder

http://www.colorado.edu/artsandsciences/student-resources/core-curriculum
James W.C. White, Dean of Arts & Sciences: james.white@Colorado.EDU

University of Edinburgh

Neil Turner, Director of Undergraduate Teaching and Learning: neil.turner@ed.ac.uk
Dorothy Miell, Vice-Principal and Head of the College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences: d.e.miell@ed.ac.uk

University of Glasgow

Moira Fischbacher-Smith, Dean of Learning and Teaching: Moira.Fischbacher-Smith@glasgow.ac.uk;
Robert Partridge, Executive Director of Student and Academic Services, Robert.Partridge@glasgow.ac.uk, 0141 330 1767/07743450226

University of Hong Kong

Ian Holliday, VP and PVC Teaching & Learning, ian.holliday@hku.hk
Gray Kochhar-Lindgren, Professor & Director, Common Core: gklindgren@hku.hk.
http://commoncore.hku.hk/

University of Melbourne

http://breadth.unimelb.edu.au/
Gregor Kennedy, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Educational Innovation): gek@unimelb.edu.au

University of Michigan

http://www.lsa.umich.edu/
Andrew D. Martin, Dean of the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts:
admart@umich.edu

University of Pennsylvania

https://www.college.upenn.edu/gen-ed. Paul Sniegowski, Stephen A.Levin Family Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences: paulsnie@sas.upenn.edu; Yasmin B. Kafai, Professor of Learning Sciences, Graduate School of Education

University of Science and Technology of China

Chen Xiaofei, Director of Educational Affiars: xfchen1@ustc.edu.cn

University of Sydney

Annamarie Jagose, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences:arts.dean@sydney.edu.au; Umberto Ansaldo, Head, School of Literature, Art, and Media, umberto.ansaldo@sydney.edu.au

University of Technology Sydney

Louise McWhinnie, Dean, Faculty of Transdisciplinary Innovation: Louise.McWhinnie@uts.edu.au
Alison Beavis, Deputy Dean, Faculty of Transdisciplinary Innovation: alison.beavis@uts.edu.au

University of Washington

Ed Taylor, Dean of Undergraduate Education: edtaylor@u.washington.edu
Comparative History of Ideas: https://chid.washington.edu/people/maria-elena-garcia
María Elena García, Director: meg71@uw.edu

Utrecht University

Honours College and Humanities Honours: Rick Dolphijn: Philosophy, Cultural and Media Studies: R.Dolphijn@uu.nl
Graduate School: Dean: Marijk van der Wende, m.c.vanderwende@uu.nl

University College Utrecht

http://www.uu.nl/en/organisation/university-college-utrecht/about-ucu/liberal-arts-and- sciences
James Kennedy, Dean: J.C.Kennedy@uu.nl

Waseda University

https://www.waseda.jp/fire/sils/en/about/curriculum/
Adrian J. Pinnington, Dean of School of International Liberal Studies: sils-one@list.waseda.jp
Aya Yoshida, Professor of Sociology of Education: ayayoshida@waseda.jp
Aya’s team members:
Kasuo Sugimoto, Professor, Tohoku University
Yumiko SUGITANI,Professor,Aoyamagakuin University
Kyoko ANGEGWA, Research Associate, Waseda University
Mandul, Part time lecturer, some universities in China

Western Sydney University

Ien Ang, Institute for Culture and Society, CC External Examiner,i.ang@westernsydney.edu.au
David R Cole, Centre for Educational Research:David.Cole@westernsydney.edu.au

Xi’an Jiaotong University

http://www.xjtu.edu.cn/info/1238/5635.htm
Zhang Ping, Associate Dean of Office of Academic Affairs: zplu@mail.xjtu.edu.cn

Yale University

http://catalog.yale.edu/ycps/yale-college/distributional-requirements/
Tamar Szabó Gendler, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences: tamar.gendler@yale.edu

Yale-NUS (Singapore)

https://www.yale-nus.edu.sg/curriculum/common-curriculum/
Tan Tai Yong, Executive Vice President (Academic Affairs): taiyong.tan@yale-nus.edu.sg; tantaiyong@nus.edu.sg

Yonsei University: Underwood International College

https://uic.yonsei.ac.kr/academics/curriculum_introduction.asp
Baik Young-seo, Dean of Liberal Arts College: baik2385@yonsei.ac.kr

Zhejiang University

Wang Li, Dean of International Education: opl_wl@zju.edu.cn

Organizations
Bringing Theory to Practice: David Scobey, Director:info@BTtoP.org
Wellcome Trust & Medical Museion Copenhagen: Ken Arnold, Creative Director:K.Arnold@wellcome.ac.uk

Association of American Colleges & Universities (AAC&U): Dawn Michele Whitehead: Senior Director for Global Learning and Curricular Change:whitehead@aacu.org

Association for Core Texts & Courses: Richard Kamber, President; Kathleen Burk, Executive   Director: info@coretexts.org